Press Room

Equus Awards 2019

The Equus Awards voting panel submitted their final selections following the Greyville meeting 27 July 2019.

The voting panel comprised of Matthew Lips, Alistair Cohen, Lennon Maharaj, David Thiselton and RA chairman Larry Wainstein as non-voting chairperson.

The panel submitted their first round of nominations after Vodacom Durban July Day and voting for the finalists took place after the Gold Cup race meeting.

The categories and finalists are:

Champion Two-year-old Colt – distance immaterial: Eden Roc, Got The Greenlight

Champion Two-year-old Filly – distance immaterial: Gabor, Miss Florida

Champion Three-year-old Colt – distance immaterial: Chimichuri Run, Hawwaam, Soqrat (AUS)

Champion Three-year-old Filly – distance immaterial: Celtic Sea, Clouds Unfold, Front And Centre, Return Flight, Silvano’s Pride

Champion Older Male – distance immaterial: Do It Again, Kasimir, Pacific Trader, Rainbow Bridge

Champion Older Filly/Mare – distance immaterial: Camphoratus, Oh Susanna (AUS)

Champion Sprinter – (1000 – 1200m; age/gender immaterial): Celtic Sea, Chimichuri Run, Kasimir, Pacific Trader

Champion Miler – (1400 – 1600; age/gender immaterial): Celtic Sea, Do It Again, Soqrat (AUS)

Champion Middle Distance – (1800 – 2200; age/gender immaterial): Do It Again, Hawwaam, Rainbow Bridge

Champion Stayer – (2400 and up; age/gender immaterial): Dynasty’s Blossom, Magnificent Seven, Return Flight, Samurai Warrior, Walter Smoothie

Voting Criteria

The awards are based on graded races and in particular Grade 1 races. As regards the stayer category, the winning horse will be at the discretion of the voting panel. This decision was taken as the only Grade 1 race in SA is the SA Derby, which would mean that this should be the obvious winner based on a single run. This would also have excluded fillies and mares.

Breeder Awards:

Stallion of the Year

Broodmare of the Year

Breeder of the Year

The Thoroughbred Breeders Association may include outstanding and/or international achievement awards.

Individual Awards:

Champion Apprentice

Champion Jockey

Champion Owner (based on stakes earned)

Champion Trainer (based on stakes earned)

Horse of the Year Award

The awards are a glittering black-tie gala event that takes place at the Convention Centre at Emperor’s Palace on Tuesday, August 13. Clyde Basel will be the master of ceremonies for the evening and guests will be treated to an array of entertainment.  There will also be an after party at the same venue.

A limited amount of seats are available, the cost is R650 per person, should you wish to book, please contact Penny Morsner on (011) 683-3220


The Racing Association Logo

Phumelela Gaming